Barnette Law Office, LLC

January 6, 2013

Nashville DUI Lawyer

Filed under: Nashville DUI Lawyer,Tennessee DUI Lawyer — Barnette Law Offices @ 1:11 am

Barnette Law Offices


Tennessee DUI laws are similar to the DUI laws of most jurisdictions. However, a Tennessee DUI charge is one of the few crimes for which an individual can be convicted solely on the testimony of an arresting officer. While most Tennessee DUI offenses are classified as misdemeanors, a conviction for a fourth offense is a felony. Moreover, the penalties for a Tennessee DUI conviction are much more severe than in most jurisdictions. This is why it is imperative that if you are charged and arrested for a DUI in the Nashville metro area or anywhere throughout Tennessee that you retain a skilled Nashville or Tennessee DUI lawyer.

Tn Criminal drug crime

Tennessee DUI law essentially requires the District Attorney General’s Office to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the person was (1) operating or in physical control of (2) a motor vehicle on (3) any public road, highway, alley, parking lot, or any other premises generally frequented by the public while (4) under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or with a blood alcohol content, or BAC, of .08% or higher.

A skilled Tennessee DUI defense attorney such as those at Barnette Law Offices, LLC typically attack elements one, three and four. However, an officer must first have probable cause to make an arrest for DUI. Even if probable cause is found for the arrest, element four can often be difficult to prove.

A seasoned Tennessee DUI lawyer can punch holes in the way in which field sobriety tests were performed and how a BAC test was performed as well. At Barnette Law Offices, LLC we do this frequently and successfully in Davidson, Dickson, Rutherford, Wilson, and Williamson Counties as well as throughout Tennessee.

breath test dui walk field sob

The implications of failing to retain an aggressive Nashville or Tennessee DUI lawyer can be catastrophic. Upon conviction for First Offence DUI in Tennessee, a person is subject to a maximum sentence of 11 months, 29 days, with a minimum of 48 hours in jail, or a minimum of 7 days in jail if, at the time of the offense, the defendant’s blood alcohol level was .20% or higher. Tennessee DUI laws for merely first offense also require a minimum $350.00 fine and court costs, the loss of your drivers license for a period of one year and enrollment in a court approved victim impact panel as well as DUI classes. Penalties for a second or subsequent conviction of DUI increase dramatically. On a second or subsequent offense, the vehicle used in the offense is subject to forfeiture. A fourth or subsequent conviction of DUI is classified as a Felony.

Davidson County Criminal Court expungment

If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Tennessee, please contact the Nashville DUI Lawyers at Barnette Law Offices, LLC by visiting or calling 615-585-2245.

Technorati Tags: Nashville DUI Lawyer,Tennessee DUI Lawyer, Barnette Law Offices LLC

February 1, 2010

January 17, 2010

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: